Policy Advisory Board

Key stakeholders with experience in translating research to policy will be integrated and connected through our activities. These stakeholders include integrated healthcare system providers and payers, substance use disorder and health care providers, public and private payers, federal and state policy makers, and the pharmaceutical industry. The Policy Advisory Board represent the perspectives of these stakeholders and will be instrumental in the functioning and operations of the Dissemination and Policy Core. Members of the Policy Advisory Board assist in disseminating policy-relevant findings to key stakeholders.


Michael Botticelli, MEd

Former Executive Director, Grayken Center for Addiction at Boston Medical Center Distinguished Policy Scholar, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Former Director of the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)

Hillary Kunins, MD, MPH

Director of Behavioral Health Services and Mental Health, San Francisco Department of Public Health

Thomas McLellan, PhD

Co-founder of Treatment Research Institute Former Science Advisor and Deputy Director of the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)
Treatment Research Institute

Jules Netherland, PhD

Managing Director, Department of Research and Academic Engagement,
Drug Policy Alliance

Rosalie Pacula, PhD

Professor and the Elizabeth Garrett Chair in Health Policy, Economics & Law, Leonard D. Schaeffer Center for Health Policy & Economics,
University of Southern California

Daniel Polsky, PhD

(Policy Advisory Board Chair)
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Health Economics at Johns Hopkins University (JHU) School of Public Health and the JHU Carey Business School

Joshua Sharfstein, MD

Associate Dean of Public Health Practice, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Former Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Former Principal Deputy Commissioner of the U.S Food and Drug Administration
Johns Hopkins University

Hyong Un, MD

Chief Psychiatric Officer for Aetna’s Behavioral Health